A Dynasty Near Ruin

I have always been a man of reason and knowledge. Prior our departure from Barcroft (the capital) I gathered what information I could about Richmond Jasper; likes, dislikes, food preferences, and appealing traits. My time was short. I had to be not only quick, but accurate. The latter would surely be a jumble of truth and lies. Thankfully I had grown to know everyone in court, so I knew who reliable.

I went to Father Duncan, the elderly priest who baptized Richmond when he was an infant, and later tutored the novice in clerical study. Duncan was more than willful to discuss his former pupil. It was from this man I learned Richmond’s sensitivity, especially in regards to the image of his person. Richmond would throw rageful fits sbould any man mock him or whisper lies about him behind his back. This led me to conclude he would likely issue serious propaganda against our King and his supporters.

My predictions were right. Once the battle was concluded, and the usurper had rested I was summoned to his tent. In his hand was one of my books. He told me he was s fan of my writing, but not before asking if I had been harmed in the fighting. I answered truthfully and thanked him for his concern and kind words. He then offered me the office of royal scribe. I told him I already hold the position, and from the look in his eyes I not offense or anger, but admiration. He saw loyalty. Seems he was a man of reason too, because he didn’t offer me such items as gold or women, like most rebels do to obtain support.

Richmond Jasper determined that I remain prisoner, as a hostage and personal scribe. He even wrote in his will and testament that should he be killed I was to be freed and my New King informed I was not a willing participant in the propaganda used against him. 

So I rode in the Usurper’s company in chains, and given quill and parchment to begin an epic tale about the “conquest of the rightful king.” 

Jasper’s army captured Morganshire Castle, where the prince had been staying with his guardians. But Richmond found the castle empty. Angry, he commanded it be burned and razed to the ground with its remaining household still inside. Strange how in public he was strongly ruthless, but in private was soft and kind. It seems the prince had fled.
King’s brother learned of defeat and rode to Morganshire to fetch his nephew, missing us by a few hours. Although he did encounter skirmishers along the way. He too was angry, and decided to reroute his forces and head for Barcroft

Outside the city he laid siege to the capital demanding the “reinstated” city sheriff surrender the city and the queen unharmed. This sheriff had been fired by Our King. It seems he gathered policemen still loyal to him, overthrew the new sheriff, and seized control of the city. Plotters within the Our King’s castle arrested Our Queen, my best friend and thrown her into the Tower.

Leave a Reply

