The Clash of Titans: Power Review

power-406-kanan-ghost-gunpoint

In the words of Proposition Joe Stewart “I gotta hand it to Ms. Kemp, I didn’t see this one coming.” Almost 50% of the event I predicted last week came true. I thought episode five was the mid-season finale, but episode six certainly takes the cake. Starting off with Ghost, this fool is still trying to pull the same tricks and strings. After everything you done why are surprised Tasha did not sleep in the same bed as you. Ghost ignores it, walks into the kitchen, and pulls the “Oh hey well let’s just forget everything and start over.” Tasha declined his proposal to start over as a family again. I am not big Tasha fan, but I respect and praise her decision to give Ghost a second chance. Look at everything that’s happened. All the problems, stress, and disrespect Ghost has done to not only her, but their children too. How can someone still be naïve of these consequences?

Ghost’s heart was in the right place, but it was not the right time. The fool should remember Tasha and the kids been through a lot, especially Tasha who has been hard at working trying to hold it down in his absence. His offer to get back together was genuine, just not appropriate with the timing. Give her a few days, a week, a month even. Let the fire cool a minute bro. Ghost the type of nigga who wants it all his way and no one else’s. “Oh, where are the kids? Why aren’t they here?” And personally, I hate those type of guys. I understand you want to be a man, and it’s your house, but you are doing too much.

This fool didn’t even get a sympathy fuck. Damn. Why are surprised Tasha didn’t sleep in the same bed as you? That is the second time Ghost pulled that shit. Last season when Ghost needed Tasha to run

Ghost hovering over Tasha like a predator asking to be taken back. “T, you didn’t have to do that.” In that fake ass Drake voice when he asked why she slept in Raina’s room. Ghost needs to get himself a white girl and be done with it. End of story. I’m glad Tasha accepted that floater from Stern! Ghost knows he wants to play the Uncle Tom role, partner with Stern and become the new bank of Harlem.

Every character is coming into his/her own. For example, Kiesha is growing sick of Tasha and her bullshit. Keisha wants to remain uninvolved in drugs, she’s clean and wants to keep the only thing she has clean too; her beauty salon. Keisha isn’t like Tasha or have a rich, smart husband like Ghost. She only has herself, her son, and her shop. Tasha can say all she wants about how much she cares about Keisha, but the truth is she doesn’t. The interaction between them in last week’s episode proves. Tasha basically Keisha a whore when inquiring why Tommy has not responded to her messages and calls. Girls joke with each other all time calling friends hoes, bitches, and sluts. But this time was different, Keisha wasn’t in the playing mood. The girl stressed out. Keisha’s response was sarcasm basically saying, “yeah I’m a slut, I get around.”

No need to discuss Chicago too much. I think Chicago was unnecessary, the only part that made any sense was Holly’s rapist uncle in Ohio. My initial thoughts after all was “Ok, you’re going to write up some confusion in Chicago that story wise could be excluded to get Tommy to go to Ohio.” I don’t know I felt they could have done without it, or made up something better that leads to Tommy ending up in Ohio. However, after reading an interview Courtney did with Entertainment Weekly it all made sense. She stated her troubles with asking Starz to extend this season of Power to twelve episodes. Starz declined the request, which meant Courtney had to revise the story she intended to tell this season. So, for all we know the Chicago plotline might have had more to tell initially.

8d5c8a4341c405b0243c3e509c746c89

Dre shitted all over Julio. I’m sick of Julio too, he a good dude but as distributor he can’t cut it. He meets up with Dre asking a thousand questions, and Julio did confront Dre about Kanan. He couldn’t call Tommy due to his absence. Dre’s was honest, and was even shocked Julio knows Kanan is alive. Dre showed no fear in that situation “you asking me question look you my bitch or something.” Right there Julio should have decked Dre. Dre brought the idea of expansion to Julio who wasn’t biting and needed Tommy’s permission. Dre hits him with “you know if ask Tommy before you meet with new primeras, he’s gonna be why I am always wiping your ass for you.” Once again Julio has been punked.

Julio redeemed his character by going out like a gangster. He was formidable, and even though I rooted for his demise I cheered him support, felt sad, and respect his refusal to die. He took three Toros Locos on, men he once called brothers. But the Toros hit is going to backfire. Dre specially told them not to make the assassination look like a Toros kill. The Toros either failed at the task or the removing of Julio’s tattoo was intentional. I think the latter.

Power Season 4 2017

Let’s get to the highlight of the episode though. The one I was pumped for and put so much focus on in my last essay. Kanan’s Revenge. It seems a huge portion of my prediction came true: Ghost begged for forgiveness, he didn’t cry though. Kanan killed Jukebox. Kanan rode off into the sunset with all the money. I think Ghost was shocked to see Kanan was alive, a lot of fans were stating it didn’t look real enough. But what can you see when you see a ghost? There is no proper response. My only criticism is Kanan didn’t seem angry enough or strike the amount of fear necessary for a man who lost ten years of his life, but he was calm and focused.

Ghost had nerved to ask why Kanan kidnapped his son, which didn’t surprise me. Typical Ghost can never man up for your sins. Kanan’s jokes and jabs made the showdown that much more exciting. “We’re gonna rob Tommy’s stash house to get the money.” Ghost tells him. Kanan laughs with “you gonna rob your own friend.” The robbery turned the tide, and I don’t know if it was Ghost’s intention but it sure did manipulate Kanan. We also got to see how well they worked together in the past. From Ghost’s perspective, it seems it was normal when they robbed a crew Kanan left bodies and Ghost admired clean jobs without bloodshed. Ghost had the “oh my god, what the fuck” look on his face. Then Kanan takes it upon himself to steal valuables from the victims, and kick em, and Ghost is looking back like “damn K chill out.”

The whole scene was funny, very comical. Ghost on the phone not paying attention to what Kanan doing, and we the audience see Kanan kicking and robbing dude with the dreads. We really got a flashback episode with this. Flashback in the sense we see how they used to work together, and not some poor dumbed down normal flashback like when get on Empire or something.

As their driving to get Tariq, Ghost finally admits why he set up Kanan. But the “I loved you like a brother, I wasn’t gonna kill you.” Well you should have, isn’t more honorable to kill your former boss then send him to jail? I think so. Like I said though the robbery turned the tables, and think Jukebox’s constant bitching to Kanan and manipulation finally broke him. He was tired of her, and couldn’t trust his cousin. So, he gave Ghost a gun and said, “let’s go get Tariq.”

Unfortunately, Jukebox forced Kanan to confess who he was and who killed Shawn. Kanan admitted to it all, he was a real G here. “I’m a no-good motherfucker, I wasn’t raised to be good. I’d kill Shawn again if I have to.” That is what I love about Kanan’s character he can adapt to ever changing situations and is honest too. He takes responsibility for his actions. I really have no predictions, I was just surprised to see some of my predictions from last week come true with the bonus of a partnership between Kanan and Ghost. I think Kanan has skipped town and we will see him again in future seasons. As for Dre, well I tried I really did root for him, but there is no way he is making it out alive. His plans are dead.

Leave a Reply

